Is Homosexuality Un-African?

homosexuality in africa

This conversation is a very chicken-and-egg kind of conversation. What are you first? An African? A woman? Or a lesbian? What identity do we value the most above all the ones that often lead to controversial conversations? This has been something that has always come up for me, even in the most social spaces-where my activism is questioned, and I am told that the fight for racial equality is bigger than the fight for gender equality. I am TOLD that I am first a black, African, woman-and everything else that attaches to this seemingly primary identity cannot have more importance. Like many other things in a patriarchal world, anything that is not supported by a predominantly male heterosexual majority, is quickly pushed to the back.

But my sexuality matters, always has and always will. And my sexuality is as important as my womanhood and my ”Africanness.

In an attempt to start a discussion about the homophobia in Africa-this clip of the World debate on whether homosexuality in  un-African. Participating in the conversation is Fikile Vilakazi, who was representing CAL.

Feel free to share with your friends and comment.

Leave a Reply

